Together we are stronger

The only place to browse through hundreds of reviews from clinics across the alternative world. 

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on email

Search & Filter Reviews

Rating

Medical Condition

Clinic Location

Reviews that mention

Show more filter options
Show less filter options
Order by
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Kira K, January, 2020
Medical Condition : Metastatic Breast Cancer
Treatment Center: Verita Life Mexico ( Mexico )

I spent three weeks in Verita Life during which I have received several treatments, including daily I.V.s of various kinds, oxygen therapy, chelation therapy, local and full body hypothermia, low-dose chemotherapy, and dendritic cell vaccine injections. I was also provided a package of dendritic cell vaccines and supplements to continue treatment back home, i.e. in the U.S. I would describe my experience at Verita Life as nothing less than perfect. First of all, I would like to extend my endless gratitude to Dr. Henriquez who is a medical director of the Tijuana branch of the clinic. He is extremely competent, knowledgeable, and kind. He treats everyone as a human being, before treating him/her as a patient. I developed a sense of very high trust for him which is extremely important for any patient and is a part of successful healing. During my stay in Verita Life, Dr. Henriquez was always open to conversation and answering questions. You didn't have to make an appointment to talk to him! I continue staying in touch with Dr. Henriquez now, and he is always prompt and clear responding my questions and addressing my concerns. Many thanks, Dr. Henriquez, you are a very special doctor! Overall, I would like to thank each and every doctor who works in Verita as they took great care of us. We were given very clear instructions regarding our dietary needs and preferences as well as the supplements we should have taken. I would particularly mention a very high professional level of all nurses. They did a great job, indeed, and I never experienced any discomfort during treatment. Staff members deserve a very special mention as all of them were extremely helpful assisting us with so many matters. All logistics were worked out impeccably. I stayed in a wonderful modern hotel and was provided a transfer to/from clinic every day. And of course, many thanks to the chef and people who worked in canteen were feeding us with delicious meals during the time spent in clinic. To conclude, everybody was great. Thanks to each and every person in the clinic, we also learned a lot about Tijuana and its surroundings, traveled to the beach, enjoyed delicious Mexican food and overall, smiled and laughed more often than we would have done under circumstances without such a generous support. I value my experience in Verita highly! I would love to return to this clinic and I definitely recommend this place to everybody who is seeking medical treatment in Mexico. You won't be disappointed! Thank you for reading my post.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : Radiation, Hormone therapy
Diet : Keto
Improvements :
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Jolanda T, January, 2020
Medical Condition : Cervical cancer, stage 4
Treatment Center: CMN Hospital ( Mexico )

Very friendly, compassionate and professional

I’m from The Netherlands and I travelled alone. They picked me up from the hotel in Yuma. Arriving at the hospital 26 August 2019, treatment started immediately, 28 days in a row. Very friendly, compassionate and professional If the treatment worked, time will tell. When I went there I had no cancer activity, still not. If you want to read my full story you can find me on Facebook as Jolanda Trendafilosofa. *Other improvements: My tinnitus (ears) disappeared. I feel overall better. Not sensitive to vibrations and noises anymore. I did not always feel well when I was at the hospital, even when I got home it took me weeks but I do feel good now. I am very sensitive to treatments, even non toxic ones apparantly.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : Radiation, Chemotherapy
Diet :
Improvements : General mood
Overall★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Mike Monahan, January, 2020
Medical Condition : n/a
Treatment Center: Functional Oncology ( Mexico )

Marginal value for cost. Poor dietary protocol. Nice staff but limited program. Overall some improvement and time will tell more.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : None
Diet : Vegetarian, Dairy Free, Organic
Improvements : General mood
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Andy, December, 2019
Medical Condition : Pancreatic cancer, Stage 4
Treatment Center: Hallwang Clinic ( Europe )

The team there has changed my life completely

I have been diagnosed with stage IV pancreatic cancer in 2017, received standard chemotherapy with Folfirinox and following progression of my tumors I've been treated with Abraxane/Gemcitabine, unfortunately this just worked for 4 months and my tumor markers started to climb again. My maximum CA19-9 was 45000. At that point, a friend of mine mentioned the Hallwang Clinic. After several discussions with the oncology team there, I decided to give them a chance, anyways I had no other chance than being put on another chemotherapy that would have been nal-IRI. I also had contact to other clinics in Germany and in Mexico and realized that most of the clinics are run by non-oncologists, so at least I was sure not to miss any important aspects of a comprehensive therapy by choosing an open-minded but specialized oncology center. I had my liver metastasis evaluated for genetic markers that revealed a BRCA1 mutation. Given that this was quite new in the field, I felt blessed to have had a chance to get this cancer mutation targeted. After just few weeks under the genetic targeted therapy and in combination with a targeted and specific immunotherapy, including a tri-functional antibody my tumor marker has been re-evaluated and showed a drop to 28000. Just after a months the tumor marker was down to 8000. I was that curious that I performed a CTZ scan after 6 weeks that revealed a tumor burden reduction of more than 75%. Yes, 75% in such a short time period!! I was thrilled! This scan is now 6 months ago, I I’m currently under immunotherapy maintenance with a survivin targeted immunotherapy. The genetic targeted therapy I was able to pause. And thanks to the complimentary part of my therapies I have tolerated all therapies without any major side effects. I’m 56 years old and can live a normal life. I’m not sure how long but I’m happy to be able to see the upcoming time with more peace and I’m extremely thankful to have been lead to the Hallwang Clinic. The team there has changed my life completely.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : Surgery
Diet : I don\'t follow a specific diet
Improvements : Sleep, Pain, Appetite, Nausea, Digestion, General mood, Blood results
Overall★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Staff★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
Beth, December, 2019
Medical Condition : Ovarian cancer
Treatment Center: Hope4Cancer Treatment Center ( Mexico )

It was a poor choice for me

In November 2018, I attended the Hope 4 Cancer clinic in Cancun, Mexico for a recurrence of my ovarian cancer. I was no stranger to conventional or alternative therapies, having worked with oncologists and naturopaths in the 4 years since my initial diagnosis. I went to the clinic wishing to avoid another round of chemotherapy, hopeful that the therapies and counsel they offered would help me to quell the new cancer growth. In the time from when I signed up to go to the clinic and when I arrived, my tumor marker had drastically risen and symptoms of abdominal distress had progressed. I shared this information with my doctor at the clinic at my intake along with my oncologist’s concerns about my GI system potentially shutting down. The doctor dismissed my concerns, telling me that there would be no need for a change in treatment plan and that CA 125 “is just a number”. This, despite my sharing that CA 125 has consistently been an accurate marker for my cancer activity and that its current level was alarmingly high. Unfortunately the treatments I received at Hope4Cancer did not slow my declining condition. Approximately half way through my 3 weeks at the clinic my health had deteriorated to the point that a competent doctor would have recognized that I needed more advanced care and/or hospitalization. By the end of my three weeks at the clinic, my GI system had completely shut down, I was barely able to eat, I had contracted an infection in my port, and I was in significant discomfort. As soon as I returned home from the clinic, I saw my primary care doctor who recommended that I go immediately to the emergency room. I ended up in the hospital for 5 weeks, involving 2 rounds of antibiotics, port removal, chemotherapy, a GI tube, and several days in the ICU. It's worth mentioning that my port infection was probably a result of Hope4Cancer's poor port management protocols. They leave ports accessed overnight in a tropical climate (where infections are more likely) and I was even told by my nurse that it was ok to swim in the ocean with my port accessed. This likely led to my port infection, which contributed significantly to my worsening condition and greatly complicated my medical treatment once I was hospitalized. While I knew in going to the clinic that there was no guarantee that the treatments would work, I assumed that I was in good medical hands with doctors with extensive experience treating advanced cancer patients. What I found was a very nice staff of nurses and doctors who were ill prepared to deal with deviations from the basic plan and unable to do the necessary diagnostics to recognize a serious condition that required greater medical care. If I’ve learned one thing from working with a variety of different health care practitioners it’s that I value one’s ability to recognize their contributions as well as their limitations. The inability of the Hope 4 Cancer medical team to recognize their limitations reached the point of medical negligence with dire consequences for me. While I recognize that Hope4Cancer's treatments may possibly work for some people and I wish them the best, I know that it was a poor choice for me in the end, costing me $40,000, delayed critical care, and nearly my life. H4C treatments also failed to help the two other patients that I stayed in contact with after leaving the clinic - one’s cancer advanced to where she required chemotherapy and the other, who had GI symptoms similar to mine, passed away several months after leaving the clinic. Thanks to chemotherapy and possibly to other complementary treatments I received after I left Hope4Cancer, I am currently in remission and able to write this review. I've been in touch with Hope4Cancer about my concerns, but unfortunately their response has left me questioning their integrity. There are no guarantees to this cancer treatment business. I understand that well. I also understand that when I am paying a premium price for treatment, I expect good medical care with competent doctors. I did not receive that and would not recommend anyone with advanced cancer to rely on solely on Hope4Cancer’s treatments to be effective nor on its medical team to reliably manage their care.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : Surgery, Chemotherapy
Diet : Gluten Free, Low Sugar, Organic
Improvements : No improvement
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Elizabeth, December, 2019
Medical Condition : Endometrial cancer, Stage 3
Treatment Center: Hufeland Klinik ( Europe )

Overall health improved dramatically

Tumor remained stable (no enlargement or metastasis), overall health improved dramatically (stamina, all other biometrics, emotional well-being)
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : None
Diet : Vegetarian, Low Sugar
Improvements : Sleep, Digestion, General mood, Blood results
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Catlyn thomas, December, 2019
Medical Condition : Ovarian cancer, stage 4
Treatment Center: Oasis of Hope ( Mexico )

I felt confident in their treatment plan

I feel extremely fortunate to have gone to oasis of hope, recommended by my integrative dr. it IS an oasis. I felt confident in their treatment plan and desperately needed the positive and hopeful attitude of the staff. within 6 months i showed no sign of cancer. it is truly an incredible place, i just wish everyone had access to this kind of treatment.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : Surgery, Chemotherapy
Diet : Vegetarian, Low Sugar, Organic
Improvements : Pain, Nausea, General mood, Blood results
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ★
M.O. ( U.K. ), December, 2019
Medical Condition : Stage 3 Breast Cancer
Treatment Center: Oasis of Hope ( Mexico )

I have a quality of life now that I could only have dreamed about 16 Years ago

No amount of words will ever be able to communicate how GREATLY BLESSED I was to have found this place 16 Years ago. I live in the United Kingdom and was diagnosed aged 60 with stage 3 Breast Cancer. I had the option of going through the conventional treatment of Chemotherapy, Radiation etc., but immediately rejected that, as I had seen the effect of conventional treatments on other People, like losing their Hair, feeling sick, lack of appetite, damage to their ' healthy cells ' etc. I was diagnosed in October 2003 and came to ' Oasis of Hope ' for the first time in January 2004, without having any other treatments. Having throughout my life being used to Alternative or Homeopathic treatments, the only slight hesitation that I had before coming to ' Oasis of Hope ' was the cost, bearing in mind that I would get the conventional treatments in the United Kingdom for ' free. ' Looking back over 16 Years, and having visited ' Oasis of Hope ' once or twice every Year since, I can categorically say that it is the BEST DECISION that I could possibly have made and the BEST THING that I have ever spent my Money on. Although it is impossible for the treatment to work in 100% of the cases, it has a VERY HIGH SUCCESS RATE, considering a large majority of Patients are either Stage 4 or have been told previously in their prospective Countries that there is nothing else that can be done to help them. Having never been in a Hospital in a foreign country before, of course I was sceptical of what treatment I would receive and what the facilities would be like. On arriving for my first visit, I was immediately impressed by the external look of the Hospital and this was matched when I entered the Hospital. Although Tijuana gets a bad reputation, the Hospital area was VERY SAFE and the Mexican People are very friendly. For People who have never been there before, it is very hard to put SUCH A POSITIVE EXPERIENCE into words. The atmosphere and experience is something that I never ever expected, as it is SO SPECIAL and UNIQUE ( my Son, who comes as my Companion, and I regularly shed tears of sadness when we leave the Hospital after each visit. ) We have made FRIENDS FOR LIFE both with Staff Members and other Patients and Companions that we have met throughout the many Years that we have been going there. Considering what I have been through over the Years, and the fact that I am now 76, I have a quality of life now that I could only have dreamed about 16 Years ago, and I put this down to one reason : the treatment / encouragement that I received from ' Oasis of Hope ' Hospital.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : None
Diet : Organic
Improvements : General mood, Blood results
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Starr M., December, 2019
Medical Condition : Breast cancer, Metastasized to Lymph nodes
Treatment Center: Verita Life Mexico ( Mexico )

I came to Verita initially for 3 weeks, and did the therapies and also I went home with the Dendritic Cell vaccination. Within a very short time of doing the vaccine, my energy levels just soared. It was great to take the vaccine home with me and to continue the treatment at home. My lifestyle is everything as it was before. I'm working. I'm going out with my friends and I feel excellent. I am a healthcare professional and did some research into the different therapies offered and I saw that VerIta Life had a lot of the therapies that I was interested in doing that you can’t find in the US. I think when you are looking at places to come to, you have to do your research and think out of the box. From the very moment I spoke with the people here in Verita - The doctors, the coordinators, I felt very at ease, I felt like I was dealing with a very high professional place. It’s everything I wanted it to be. It has been a year since my first visit and all the scans are showing that cancer hasn't metastasized any further. I would advise everybody and anybody I know when you come to Mexico - come to Verita.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : None
Diet :
Improvements : Sleep, General mood, Blood results, Better scans (CT, MRI)
Overall★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Facilities★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Staff★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Sheree Burnett, November, 2019
Medical Condition : Breast cancer
Treatment Center: Stella Maris Clinic ( Mexico )

I felt great when I left the clinic

The clinic was beautiful and absolutely spotless. Prior to choosing Stella Maris for my treatment I’d read about in the book, “Hoping for a Cure”, and liked what the author said about Dr. Alvarez and his expertise, wealth of knowledge and impressive credentials. I was very happy with my experience at Stella Maris. Dr. Alvarez was very hands on and always available to answer my questions and discuss my treatments. He was also very kind and compassionate. When I had an upset stomach one day, he canceled my shuttle and drove me back to my hotel himself. He also called me that evening to make sure I was ok. His nurse, Ophelia, was also very good at her job, as well as funny and kind. The cook made us healthy but tasty meals and had us drinking green juices every day. I felt great when I left the clinic, and the maintenance program set out by Dr. Alvarez, reassured me that even though I was leaving my healing would continue when I got home. Improvement: Left breast was very hard, following two lumpectomies. Margins were still not clear after second surgery.There was also a lump in it. After two weeks of treatment it was soft again and lump disappeared. This to me was visible evidence that the treatments were working.
Read more Read less
Previous Treatments : Surgery
Diet : Vegetarian, Low Sugar, Organic
Improvements : Appetite, General mood, Blood results

Tell us what you are looking for

The Heal Navigator Team is here to assist you with finding a clinic to suit your budget and needs.

Step 1 of 5

Curious about more treatment options?

Heal Navigator offers FREE service designed to assist you find a treatment center that suits your budget and needs.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience.